The Simple Things

One of the highlights of my month is when the new issue of “The Simple Things” appears through my letter box – promising 130 pages of tranquil reading; recipes, travel, books, gardening, and home making. In the years gone by, I dread to think how much I have spent on weekly trash mags (as I fondly used to call them) which were cover to cover celebrity gossip, diet tips and quite unbelievable “true life” stories.

snapchat-803511129498145463

Don’t get me wrong, I am still more than happy to flick through their pages in the supermarket queue or at the hair salon, but am I the only one who is left feeling rather flat..? It may just be my nature, but I find it really hard not to compare myself to celebrities and lust after a more luxurious lifestyle when reading those kind of magazines. I know that won’t apply to everyone, but for me, I’ve learned that it is actually quite unhealthy for me to surround myself with that kind of content.

That is why I am completely in love with The Simple Things. Not one frivolous celebrity story or depressing report on current affairs – just light hearted, mind opening pieces on how to make the most of every day! It is genuinely interesting and so varied – you never know what will be on the next page! It is a magazine that has really opened my mind to all of the things that Jeff and I could do in our spare time rather than just collapse in front of the TV! We could take a trip on a narrow boat, host an outdoor cinema night in our garden, go open water swimming (okay – this one is highly unlikely!!) or just amble around the countryside and take in the seasonal changes.

snapchat-4599399067900839473

I read them cover to cover then go back through with post it notes and mark the pages where I’ve felt inspired to try something new;

Their website puts it perfectly…

“We celebrate slowing down, enjoying what you have, making the most of where you live, enjoying the company of friends and family, and feeding them well. We like to grow some of our own vegetables, visit local markets, rummage for vintage finds, and decorate our home with the plunder. We love being outdoors and enjoy the satisfaction that comes with a job well done.”

I’d really recommend this magazine; you can order an old issue on their website for just £5 so why not give it a try? Let me know what you think!

http://www.thesimplethings.com/

Leave a Reply

