An Open Letter

This is my open letter to the fitness blogger, Zanna Van Dijk. I have been quite nervous about posting it but feel that this is something I really want to do. You can find Zanna’s blog and all links to other social media here.

Here it goes… 

Dear Zanna

I wanted to write this letter to you as I’ve recently felt encouraged to let people who have inspired me know exactly how much they have meant to me; whether I actually know them or not! In this case, obviously, I haven’t ever actually met you and you haven’t met me, but as I’m sure you have found with many other viewers and fans of your blog, you have had quite an impact on my life this year so I wanted to let you know why, and to thank you.

Back in my early teens, I was as healthy as you could be with a sports club or social event every night of the week, eating anything and everything, and just being happy. When I developed anorexia at 17, my whole world completely shifted and everything I had once loved and enjoyed now filled me with dread and fear. I have been very lucky and a combination of therapy and family support saw me discharged about four years later. The reason I’m sharing this with you is that, even though I was discharged and free from anorexic thoughts, I had forgotten how to take care of myself and my body! I have spent the four years since being discharged re educating myself on fitness, nutrition and self care.

This is where you came in! Ohh, I was getting it so wrong! Yes, the past few years have been filled with so much joy and happiness; I started my career with the NHS, I met by husband, we bought a house – all very very lovely, but it was all accompanied by my own constant anxieties over my health and whether I was as strong and happy as I should be. When I stumbled across you youtube channel, I connected instantly and felt empowered to take control of my own health.

Thanks to you, I have joined a gym and now love working out at least twice a week with the strengthening exercises from your book. I have experimented with new foods and finally accepted that, at 5 foot 11, I need to eat more than everyone else and that is okay!! I have felt brave enough to finally start exploring my fascination in mindfulness and share this with my husband. I feel positive about the weight I have gained and the way my body and changed and strengthened all thanks to you!

I can’t be the only one who has been so inspired by you, and I hope that one day I’ll be able to meet you perhaps at one of your events so that I can thank you in person! If you every get the chance to read this, thank you, from the bottom of my heart for inspiring me to take control of my own health and empowering me to enjoy my amazing life to the full, free of anxiety.

In the meantime, I can’t wait for your next blog post and hope that you’re having an amazing weekend…

Best wishes and sincerest thanks!

Lauren

Then and Now – Thank You Zanna

 

Featured Image is from http://www.zannavandijk.co.uk/blog/my-strong-fitness-routine-in-2017/

Leave a Reply

